The Delete Special command deletes not only the selected entities but their parent entities as well.
Caution: It is important to keep in mind that special-deleting a selected entity may cause many other entities (i.e. parent entities) to
be deleted as well. Compare to the Delete command.
Note that a block entity is bounded by (i.e. "uses") domain entities which in turn are bounded by (i.e. "use") connector entities. Therefore, if you select a block,
and then use the Delete Special command, the block, the domains it uses, and the connectors used by those domains will all be deleted.
When used on a database quilt entity, the Delete Special command will delete the quilt, its associated trimmed surfaces, and also its associated
edge curves (usually hidden). As a comparison, the Delete command will only delete
the quilt and its associated trimmed surfaces.
A special case is presented when deleting database entities that have grid entities constrained to them (review
the On Database Entities section for more details). In this case, a dialog will appear stating that
the associated grid entities are about to become unconstrained (see image below). The options in the dialog will allow you to decide how to proceed:
- Yes: Will delete all the selected database entities.
- Yes, but Skip Constraining: Will delete only those selected database entities that do not have grid entities constrained to them.
- No: Will cancel the delete process.
- Show/Hide Details: Will expand/contract the lower table showing all the grid entities that will become unconstrained if all currently selected database
entities are deleted.
This dialog will appear when deleting database entities that have grid entities constrained to them. It allows you to decide whether to proceed or cancel the