The New command creates a blank Pointwise file with the option of keeping some or all of the entities from your existing project.
When File, New is selected, you are faced with two basic options: Blank Project and Restart (see image shown below). The first
option is to start a new project from scratch - this is the default option. The second option also allows you to start a new project, but includes the ability
to carry over many of the existing entities from your current project. After selecting either option, click on the OK button to implement the new
The options available for starting a blank project or restarting the current project can be accessed in the New panel.
The Blank Project option allows you to starts a new grid project based on Pointwise's default settings. Once selected, Pointwise clears all grids
and database entities as well as resets tolerances, CAE, Defaults, and Layers. The default view orientation is restored to the default -Z view. Toolbar
settings and text field values are not cleared.
The Restart option is used in cases where clearing/resetting only a certain portion of a project is desired. For example, you may want to retain the
database from the existing project for use with the new grid project.
Checking a restart option in the New panel will cause it to be cleared. Unchecking an option will ensure that its values are retained for the new
project. As with a Blank Project, the toolbar settings and text field values will not be cleared. A list of the options that may be cleared or reset
are shown in the following table:
||This option will clear all grid entities from memory.
||This option will clear all database entities from memory.
||This option will reset the Model Size, Node,
Connector, and Grid Point tolerances to the default values.
||This option will reset the CAE solver to the default value.
||This option will reset all values in the Defaults panel to their default values
||This option will clear all layer names, layer sets, and status settings from memory
Tip: If you save multiple versions of your grid for one database file, you can use New, Restart with Clear Database
unchecked to easily import those grids without having to import the database file again.